## Windy City Chapter Hosts its Annual Local Awards and Scholarship Banquet

On Saturday, March 2, 2013, the AOC Windy City Chapter hosted their Annual Local Recognition Awards and Scholarship Dinner at the Meridian Banquets Ballroom in Rolling Meadows, Illinois. This was a formal dinner at which presentation of the chapter member recognition awards and scholarships to local university students seeking a degree in engineering were made.

Under the chairmanship of Dr. Dennis Vaccaro, the Windy City Awards Committee made its selection for the categories of Engineering Excellence to Kevin McLaughlin, Technology to Gary Luper, Management to Terry Van Den Boom, Marketing to Naveen Murarka, Outstanding Customer Service to Kurt Lawsen and Scott Melzer, and Outstanding Chapter Service to Sharon Lyczak. In addition to the local chapter recognition awards, the Education Foundation, under the chairpersonship of Ms. Pat Allen, presented scholarships in the amount of \$2,500 each to seven deserving students from local universities. Universities included in the scholarship program this year included Northwestern University, Purdue University, Bradley University, University of Illinois, and Northern Illinois University.

The keynote speaker for the banquet was Mr. Jim Mocarski, Vice President of the Northrop Grumman's Airborne Tactical Sensors Division located in Rolling Meadows, Illinois. Jim's address focused on the engineering students that were present to receive their scholarships. Jim discussed the difficult times that are confronting the defense industry with Sequestration, however he also emphasized that there is no other industry that would afford an engineer the opportunities that he has experienced. He emphasized the very important role that Electronic Warfare (EW) plays in our everyday lives and how important it is that the AOC continue to recognize and support the education of students and the general public on the benefits that EW brings to the United States military and that of our allies.

Following the scholarship and local award presentations, the audience enjoyed the remainder of the evening networking and dancing.



Jim Mocarski Addressing the WCC Banquet Guests.



**2013 AOC WCC Local Award Winners** (From L-R: Scott Melzer, Kurt Lawsen, Gary Luper, Jim Mocarski, Kevin McLaughlin, Naveen Murarka Terry Van Den Boom, Sharon Lyczak, and Joe Duthie – WCC President)



**2013 AOC WCC Scholarship Winners** (From L-R: Jim Mocarski, Eric Jizba, Michelle Diaz, Stefan Hyde, Aaron Petry, Andrew Aubrey, Johnny Watts, Joe Duthie, Pawel Klisiewicz not present)